Department of Mathematics

Mathematics is the study of quantity, structure space, and change. Through the use of abstraction and logical reasoning, mathematics evolved from counting, calculation, measurement and systematic study of shapes and motion of physical objects.

Mathematical thinking is important for all members of modern society as a habit of mind for it use in the workplace, business and finance and for the personal decision-making.

Mathematics is fundamental national property to provide tools for understanding science, engineering, technology and economics.

Mathematics is present in day to day life and is being used by the people without realizing that they are using mathematical concepts. So mathematics is a creative discipline.

The department of Mathematics was established in the year 1957 and M.Sc., mathematics was introduced in 2006 under self-financing scheme during the headship of Prof. K. Badrudheen. M.Phil. Mathematics was introduced in the year 2015 during the headship of Dr. M. Mohamed Sheriff.

Prof. K. Krishnan was the first Head of the Department. His long service of twenty years brought name and fame not only to the Department but also to the Institution. His successor Prof. M. Ramatheertham was a dedicated teacher and did his best for the improvement of the Department. Mr. S. Umamaheswaran took charge of the Department on 27.07.1977 and his devoted service boosted the results and thereby, earned great name and fame to the Department. His successors Prof. P. Venkatalu, Prof. K. Badrudheen and Dr. S. Amanullah were also learned mathematicians blessed with sincerity and commitment.

At Present Dr. M. Mohamed Sheriff is the Head of the Department. Under his able guidance the Department is functioning efficiently with the full support of all members of the Department. Three staff members of the Department have been conferred with Ph.D. degrees by Maduari Kamaraj University.

Dr. M. MOHAMED SHERIFF, M.Sc., M.Phil., B.Ed., Ph.D.,SETHead & Associate Professor
Dr. M. SANTHI, M.Sc., M.Phil., B.Ed., Ph.D.,Associate Professor
Ms. H. HABEEB RANI, M.Sc., M.Phil., PGDCA.,Assistant Professor
Dr. S. SEYADALI FATHIMA, M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.,Assistant Professor
Dr. P. ANITHA, M.Sc., M.Phil., B.Ed., Ph.D.,Assistant Professor
Ms. M. VIJAYA SANKARI, M.Sc., M.Ed., M.Phil.,Assistant Professor
Ms. N. RAYSHIMA, M.Sc., M.Phil., SET.,Assistant Professor
Mr. A. SHEIK MOHAMED, M.Sc., M.Phil., B.Ed.,Assistant Professor
Ms. A. BENAZIR, M.Sc., M.Phil.,Assistant Professor
Dr. S. MOHAMED BASHEER, M.Sc., B.Ed., Ph.D.,Assistant Professor